Yesterday, 5th November, I arrived in Kitzbühel, Austria, to live and work for the ski season. The weather was cold but not as bad as expected when I arrived and today I woke up to rain, wondered around the town in an attempt to get my bearings and then returned home at which point the snow started.

I have to confess that my relationship with snow has never been a very good one. There is a photo of me in my first snow, looking like I’d be ready to kill my parents for torturing me like that if only I wasn’t frozen still. In January this year I wrote “I hate snow” in the thin snowfall on the roof of my car, even after the snow had melted the words were visible through the dirt for quite a while before I washed the car, and yet, just now as I watched the snow settle on the trees, I felt excitement and joy. baby-hates-snowi-hate-snow

Losing my hatred for snow is an important life lesson; if I had clung to the hatred I would never have said yes to this move, I would have had experiences shut off to me because I would never have given them a chance. Letting go of toxic feelings isn’t easy but now that I am learning to, and not just with my attitude to the weather, I can open myself up to lots of exciting opportunities, and surely that is the main purpose of life; to fill it with as much wonder as you can.

As I layer up and pull my boots on to head out into the cold, I can’t help but think of Simo. He would most likely have never chosen somewhere like this for an adventure, he much preferred the heat, but then again so do I. Despite that I know he would be so proud, I am here, I have taken the plunge to leave home and start my own adventures, no matter what the weather is like.

from-my-balcony

I still intend to travel to Thailand at some point in the next few years, I want to learn to dive and see the place he loved so much but ultimately I plan to see the places he never did. An African Safari, travel through South America and Canada are all high on the list, I know Simo is with me wherever I go and regardless of whether he would have chosen these places, I know he would never have turned down the experiences of learning about different cultures and meeting new people.

Before I left the UK I had a conversation with a wonderful friend, Karen, in which I said that I don’t want a “normal real life” and she reminded me that normality and reality are subjective, it’s entirely my choice how I live my life and who I spend it with, so here is to a life full of adventures and like minded people who think that living out of a suitcase or backpack is normal.

 

#liveforsimo

 

