Today, 3rd June 2016, would have been Simon’s 46th Birthday. Despite being twice my age I know that he would have spent today partying harder than I could ever manage, speaking his mind, testing life’s limits and most importantly, turning strangers into friends.

It has now been just over 6 weeks since Simo’s death and I am still not sure what I think or feel. I am not good at grieving, it just doesn’t come naturally to me. When I was much younger, my Great-Grandmother told me over lunch “you are a Kenworthy! You are a strong woman!” Despite the fact that I am not a Kenworthy, my mum was, and she was only part of that family line by marriage, seemed completely irrelevant to her. It is with this that I have grown to live my life, and it is with this that I forget to cry at times. The last 6 weeks has broken down so many of my personal barriers that I know I am no longer the girl in love with Peter Pan, I am the woman looking out the window hoping that he will come and visit again soon.

I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and I believe in miracles.

-Audrey Hepburn

This may be a bit too much information for some but I am wearing fluorescent pink underwear in Simo’s memory today. Simo loved bright colours and took a particular liking to pink but as I have to wear a uniform to work, my underwear is my nod to him today.

I also had the good fortune to stumble across some Coopers Pale Ale here in England and have not only shared some with my sister but given others to the colleagues working today, asking them to raise a glass to life and all the adventures it brings.

IMG_1799[1]

I love stationary!! This includes birthday cards and Simon has been lucky enough to recieve one with a turtle on the front in which I wrote “saw this and thought it looked like you”, one that said “Happy 90th Birthday” on the front and one with an age related joke which I can’t quite remember…Todays card is pop-up (Very exciting) and I can almost hear him saying “thanks Babe but I’m 46, not 6!” while laughing wholeheartedly and swigging at his Coopers.

Whether you knew Simon or not, take today to raise a glass to the future, the friends you have yet to meet, the places you have yet to see, and the discoveries you have yet to make.

Cheers!

IMG_1805[1].JPG

